The spice of life

8F6AEF9E-425F-4E8C-9E14-39D4503ADFC7

Bold Squirrel

Oh little squirrel,

where do you live?

is it some where safe?

I’ve come to watch you play again,

to make my heart feel glad.

~

I won’t try to feed you today,

you really shouldn’t be tame,

I watch you bounding freely,

like freedom isn’t bad…

~

I’ve become free, tiny squirrel.

It’s not something I chose .

I sit on our bench and watch you play,

people pass close by, not knowing my strife.

~

We both used to come here,

we’d sit, hold hands and laugh .

perhaps you noticed us ?

for we were larger than life .

~

I envy you confident squirrel ,

your purpose is clear, defined,

not for you the emotions,

that give us humans, spice!

~

When darkness falls,

you’ll be gone again,

back to your secret place,

for you empty hollows,

mean home and safety…

~

 That must be ever so nice!


 

I'd love to hear from you.

