Audible review – Afraid


I find it so hard to settle with a book nowadays that I joined Audible roughly three years ago in a bid to catch up on more than a few years of neglect. I hoped that listening rather than reading might reawaken my slightly addling brain


FullSizeRender 10
Afraid

Now I don’t want to give too much of the plot away, but it is a story of child grooming that is harrowing at times and quite disturbing.

It should probably be essential reading for parents. Pre-teen, preferably before the kids go off the rails

Having said that, the kind of parents that 15 year old Skye, the main character possesses, probably wouldn’t have read it anyway. She has a chaotic home life and is troubled by her parents almost dangerous relationship.

Luckily Skye has Jade to talk to, a girl whose life seems almost as awful as hers.

Sky’s life falls further apart when her mother becomes ill and the police become involved, Skye in desperation turns to Jade who luckily offers a place for her troubled friend to stay.

Author Mandasue Heller has connections with the notorious Hulme Crescents area of Manchester having lived there for ten years, she often uses the location as a backdrop to her novels, as such this story is set in the North of England and is best described as, true to form with realistic character dialogue.

The book contains explicit language which could offend, but fits well within the plotline. Narrator Colleen Prendergast reads the characters well and I found she really brought the tale to life for me.

The story is full of drama and suspense and I found myself totally immersed. The audio book is 10 hours 15 minutes long. I listened to it in bursts at the gym, a half hour of exercise has never passed so quickly.

It’s not a pleasant book but it is a great story and I do highly recommend it


 

My Rating

Narration ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Story ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

FURTHER INFO ABOUT AUTHOR Mandasue Heller   


    

3 thoughts on “Audible review – Afraid

  1. Having discovered there’s less time in the day than there used to be audio books could be the future. Nice review, Cjm and food for thought when I finally complete my latest read (my fault – slow reader, not the books) 🙂

    Like

    • I had a special discreet earpiece for work, and I used to pop it in whilst I was doing the cleaning, made things a lot more bearable, fatal to listen in bed though (unless you need a cure for insomnia) 😴
      Our local library has a good selection of digital books for a small borrowing fee.
      Great for an experience without committing to a subscription service.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the tip, Cjm 🙂 I may explore this further although listening to a professional will no doubt put me off further narration ventures of my own, just as Broadway honed into view… 😉

        Like

I'd love to hear from you.

