Train of thought

Don’t look at the time

the sheets are rucked and damp

I’m a carcass

a hot sticky unpleasant carcass

don’t check the time

turn over and go back to sleep

am I hungry

maybe it’s nearly morning

beach tomorrow a nice day out

but only if I can sleep now

this pillow is so hot

where’s the cat

I hope he doesn’t wake me up

when I drift back off to sleep,

the weather was so nice today

looking forward to our day out

is today’s weather nice

or will it be cloudy

shall I look

no don’t look

 shall I go for a pee

I could check the cat

he’s definitely not in here

I can’t hear him breathing  at all

what if he’s dead

what will I do without him

won’t be able to go out

we’ll both be too upset

why is it so hot

open the window

why has he not come to bed

has he eaten a plant

is he sick

if we don’t get out tomorrow

the weather might not

be good again for weeks

if I lie here awake till 5

then fall asleep again

I’ll be too tired

for any fun tomorrow

our only day out this year

and I’m ruining it by being awake

what’s wrong with me

do I have a fever

I haven’t got time to be sick

it’s so hot

I’m burned out

how many more years will I live

I could cry myself back to sleep…

I'd love to hear from you.

